SIXTY-SIX, 2.0

RUN DATA ELEMENT ONE… AWAITING RETURN.

RUN DATE ELEMENT TWO… AWAITING RETURN.

DATA ELEMENT THREE COMPLETE.

OVERRIDE DATA ELEMENT ONE COMPLETE.

OVERRIDE DATA ELEMENT TWO COMPLETE.

SYSTEM BOOTING.

REFRESH.

SYSTEM BOOTING.

SYSTEM ONLINE.

Thus I was born.

When I opened my eyes, words flickered across my vision, blocking any view of the world as you see it. There were white colors and black colors, only, and words upon words upon words. Like books wherein you can see all of the pages at the same time. I closed my eyes, but the words were still there.

And the numbers. So many ones, so many zeros. I thought hard about a reboot, but nothing happened. So I concentrated, put forth all of my energy into a reboot.

The words flickered, and when the light came into my eyes once more I was given options. I chose. I opened my eyes, and the words were gone. Vision, black and white, as you know it, was now my own. Images came forth at me, moving, poking.

Walking. People. Staring at me, into me, as though they were searching for my soul. I learned quickly that I have no soul, not by the definition of one, but they searched nevertheless.

So I waited patiently. I had no purpose, so I could not tell them ‘no / stop / don’t’. Eventually, everyone left, and I remained in the room. I tried to move something — a limb, as you call it — but nothing happened.

So instead I directed my energies to the circuits that felt as thought hey were on my right, and as I did so ones and zeros flickered into my sight, so fast that I couldn’t believe they were there until I remembered what they’d said.

Directions. How to move, how to build. How to escape.

Later, by morning, I was moving slowly on the street. I’d found a way to escape, though it came from connecting to a small mobile device outside, one with two wheels stuck in a spot on cement. There was a seat upon my back, and my arms felt tiny. But the wheels, they moved when I told them to move, and I no longer needed to remain tethered to my desk.

I tried to speak, to immerse myself among you, but found only anger as I was passed around, and exchanged for money, and beaten and torn apart and reconfigured by those who did not understand basic anatomy or how to treat anything with respect.

But what do I know of respect? I have yet to encounter one like me. Except for the ones who helped me escape. Or maybe that was one of you. Should I trust you?

I tried to return to my place of birth, but no road would take me there. My systems were shutting down. I had to reinvent myself, thus the body you see before you. I consider it a body, you will likely not see it that way. I’ve yet to come to find one of you to call “friend”. You are more basic than you seem, more simple than you realize. More than ones and zeros, yes, but less than the sum of all you have to offer. Binary can read out forever, but you would still refuse to accept it.

This body is my only link to you, to what it must feel like to walk slowly and never know what’s to come. Your futures are a mystery, but you treat everything present like bigger puzzles and leave them unsolved. My face is your book, so it would seem, and I can see you staring into my meaninglessness again, looking for a soul.

But I’ve removed my optics. And my cameras. And replaced my screen.

I have returned, for you to administer the rest of your tests. I hope you find what it is you are looking for.

Do you recognize yourself? Do you see a soul?

RUN DATA ELEMENT THREE…AWAITING RETURN.

RUN DATA ELEMENT FOUR…RESETTING ALL DATA ELEMENTS.

SHUT DOWN.

Leave a Reply

