FORTY-SIX, 2.0

Okay, enough with the lies. If we’re going to go through this, we have to be on the same page. I don’t like you, you don’t like me. So no more BS. I promise you if you promise me, okay?

Good.

Now, let’s get it all on the table. Coffee is terrible. I know you’re a big fan, but I just don’t like the smell. It’s like something sweet is burning. It’s disgusting. And it doesn’t wake me up in the morning. Okay?

I’m just being honest, just like we promised.

Flying, let’s just get that out of the way. I’m a better pilot than you are.

No, I’m not saying that to gloat or sound arrogant. We both know how true it is.

Don’t lie. I can move on from it.

I know, it’s easy for me to say, but trust me it’s for both our own goods if we can just agree on this one. Our lives may depend on it.

You come from where you come from, I get it. Buying yourself a ticket on this ship wasn’t smart, and I hope you don’t think it was right either. We’ve both brought something to the table, but now it’s time to buckle down and, well, survive.

You’re in love with me. I get it, I really do. No, that’s not gloating, either.

I’m just accepting of your feelings. I don’t feel the same way, and if we’re going to go back to my planet you need to understand that. I’m sure you’ll find someone there worth putting your feelings towards.  I did, at one time.

A long time ago, to be fair.

Consider how long we’ve been out here, and double that, and you’ll get the length of time I’ve been out here.

So now we come to the toughest part. Your planet. I know you miss it — I would, too, if it was my planet that vanished. But just know that I want to understand, and I want to help you, so you have to let me try, despite our differences.

And speaking of differences, and I’m sure you’ll agree, you need to bring up your masking abilities.

I know, I know.

You can still be “you” but you have to just alter your appearance when we arrive. Only for a short time. Earthlings won’t like the face you’ve got, just trust me on that.

In a few years, maybe a little longer, they’ll get used to a human face. But for now, keep up the lizard exterior.

It’s best to pretend you’re just like everyone else before you show your true colors.

Leave a Reply

