in Sanity, AZ After the Writing

Continuing my own reflections on the creative process of the collaboration in Sanity, AZ, based on the posts of James Ninness, let’s talk about the aftermath of the writing process.

in Sanity Sign

Collaborating in comic books with artists is a tough situation. Once the words are on the page, there comes a time to interpret those words as images in a book, images that coincide with the tone, the intent of the script, and finding just the right person to do that for you can be an arduous task. For an anthology based on varying degrees of horror, gore, thrills and chills, finding that consistent tone and style is difficult.

Through months of searching and “test pages”, Ben Glibert and James Ninness truly gathered an amazing team of artists, pairing each with the story most suited to their abilities. See the list below, and find these folks online by whatever means possible. Contact them, pick their brains for the finest in artistic creations. We have, and I can’t wait to join forces with each and every one of them for future collaborations:

CHRIS BURKHEART, COURTNEY CAMACHO, CHRIS COLLINS, COLLIN FOGEL, KEVIN GEMSER, BEN GLIBERT, SCOTT IRWIN, RICH KUHAUPT, FRANK LUNA, JOHN NARCOMEY, DONALD POQUIZ, JORGE SEVILLA, BRIAN SORIANO, JED SORIANO, MIKE TEMPLE, DANIEL TOUCHET, and “BIG” CHRIS WOOD (covers).

Somewhere in the conversations with the above artists I’m sure we talked about traveling to Sanity, AZ, for “research purposes.” I thought this rather silly at the time, being that the town is fictional. But after months of consideration I think we can make this a reality. Consider this:

A town much like the place you grew up, with a main street, a gas station, a diner with the finest of local cuisines. A few roads and parking spaces, and then on the horizon the great expanse of America. Sports are enjoyed, to a degree, by players and fans alike. There’s a great love for animals big and small, and children who love to play games with adults who will take the time to play along.

Where does Sanity not exist, I ask you?

I’m not going to lie, when Daniel Touchet submitted his pages for one of the particular tales I penned, I think I crapped my pants a little bit in delight. I thought it odd, as I rarely crap my pants.

Then again, if there’s one artist in existence who can always make me shart, it’s Daniel Touchet. We formerly collaborated on Sim-I for Keyleaf Comics (formerly Semantink). I mean, it’s about a lab monkey who occasionally flings his poop at his captors. If you’re not sharting along with Sim-I, then there’s something wrong with your sense of humor.

Where was I?

Oh, who knows, all I know is there is a bottle of rum awaiting at the edge of the next stop along the highway. Be sure to come by and enjoy a drink with me while you take in this video: in Sanity, AZ Teaser.

Leave a Reply

